Center for Archival Collections

Genealogy Resources: Crawford County

Helps by County

Established: 12 February 1820
County Seat: Bucyrus

 Geographical Names (active post offices in bold)

  • Auburn Township
  • Biddle
  • Brandywine
  • Brokensword
  • Bucyrus
  • Bucyrus Township
  • Camp Run
  • Chatfield
  • Chatfield Township
  • Cranberry Township
  • Crestline
  • Dallas Township
  • De Kalb (now Liberty Corners)
  • Galion
  • Grove Hill
  • Holmes Township
  • Hotts Corners
  • Jackson Township
  • Jefferson Township
  • Leepersville
  • Leesville Cross Roads
  • Lemert
  • Liberty Corners
  • Liberty Township
  • Livingstone (now Crestline)
  • Loss Creek
  • Lykens
  • Lykens Township
  • Monnett
  • New Washington
  • New Winchester
  • North Auburn
  • North Robinson
  • Osceola
  • Olentangy
  • Plankton
  • Poplar
  • Ridgeton
  • Sandusky Township
  • Spore
  • Sulphur Springs
  • Tiro
  • Vernon Township
  • Wellerville
  • Whestone
  • Whetstone Township


Newspapers are useful to genealogical research because of the obituaries and community news appearing in them. The following communities published newspapers with information relating to Crawford County residents. To see the CAC's holdings for each title, go to the Guide to Newspaper Holdings, select the letter the city name begins with and scroll down or use your browser's search function to locate the description of the newspapers. Newspapers may also be located at your local public library or at the Ohio Historical Society.

  • Bucyrus
  • Crestline
  • Galion
  • New Washington
  • Tiro

 Local Government Records

Counties, townships, and cities all keep records of interest to family historians. Probate Court records include Births and Deaths (first recorded in 1867), marriages, wills, and guardianships. Naturalization records may also be found here as well as in the Court of Common Pleas. For a full listing of offices, see Crawford County Guide to Local Government Records.

Researchers interested in contemporary records, or any record not listed here on the CAC's inventories should contact the Crawford County Courthouse for more information.


Search the BGSU Libraries online catalog for Crawford County, Ohio histories and atlases. The following indexes have been compiled and are available for use at the Center for Archival Collections.

  • 1870 Census of Crawford County, Ohio. CAC OG F497.C8 E45
  • Cemeteries of Crawford County, Ohio. CAC OG F497.C8 C28
  • Marriages of Crawford County, Ohio, 1831-1989. CAC OG F497.C8 M35

Most local government record volumes are indexed at the front of each volume. Some separate indexes have been prepared and form part of the local record series. These include:

  • Birth Records, 1867-1878, 1r (#49)
  • Marriage Records, 1831-1983, 1r (#12A, 29B-29C)

 Online Resources