BGSU Historic Campus Tour
Built in 1951, university administrators intended for the structure to be the first unit of a larger science building that would eventually replace the aging Moseley Hall. However, Overman Hall has been an epicenter of scientific innovation on campus in its own right. Indeed, the multitude of groundbreaking scientific equipment that have resided in the building over the years are a testament to the central role of the building. Some of the equipment include a seismograph, scintillation spectrometer, ultra centrifuge, technicon analyzer, and gel-electrophoresis units.
Listed below are additional highlights in the history of the building:
- 1949, university approves plans for the construction of the first unit of a larger science building.
- 1951, construction completed at a final cost of $850,000. Building houses classrooms, laboratories, offices for the Departments of Geology, Mathematics, Physics.
- 1956, building officially dedicated.
- 1960, large addition added and whole building renamed Overman Hall for James Overman.
- 1976, renovation completed. Improvements include eliminating "unused" equipment from the building, replacing paneled partitions with dry wall, replacing hood motor, purchase of additional storage cabinets.
- 1988, $120,000 renovation completed removing all the asbestos from the ceiling.
- 1990, mercury spill cleanup closes building for 2 months.
- 1990, major renovation replaces the walls, plumbing, wiring, and windows in the building.
- 2002, ventilation upgrades, ductwork changes, new flooring, installation of automatic door openers, and fire suppression equipment.