Biology: Biochem & Molec Bio Faculty
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Faculty

    Program   |   People   |   Research Areas   |   Facilities   |   Center for Biomolec Sci


Our collection of faculty at BGSU perform research in a broad range of areas- including studies of cancer biology, plant development, microbiology, nitrgenase, ancient nucleic acids, host-pathogen interactions, membrane transport, photosynthesis, protemics, genomics, evolutionary mechanisms, mitrochondrial functions, cell biology, insect and parasite physiology. This diversity of faculty expertise provides an environment for education and research that results in a quality experience for students at the undergraduate and graduate levels.


Core Faculty

   
Juan Bouzat, Ph.D., University of Illinois
   Associate Professor
   Molecular ecology; conservation genetics
        403 Life Sciences Building
jbouzat@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-9240
   
George Bullerjahn, Ph.D., University of Virginia
   Professor
   Microbial physiology; cyanobacteria
        516 Life Sciences Building
bullerj@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-8527
   
Don Deters, Ph.D., University of California, Irvine (1985)
   Assistant Professor
   Microbiology; molecular biology of yeasts
        455 Life Sciences Building
ddeters@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-8568
   
Carmen Fioravanti, Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
   Professor
   Comparative biochemistry of parasitic helminths
        448 Life Sciences Building.
cfiorav@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-2634
   
Michael Geusz, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
   Associate Professor
   Circadian rhythms of cells
        414 Life Sciences Building.
mgeusz@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-2433
   
John Graham, Ph.D., Washington State University
   Professor
   Plant molecular biology and biochemistry
        516 Life Sciences Building.
johnsg@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-8527
   
Carol Heckman, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst
   Professor
   Cell biology; role of ruffling in growth control
        541 Life Sciences Building.
heckman@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-8218
   
Roudabeh Jamasbi, Ph.D., University of Arkansas
   Professor
   Cancer immunology, microbiology
        516 Life Sciences Building.
rjamasb@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-8527
   
Ray Larsen, Ph.D., University of Montana
   Assistant Professor
    Transport and membrane energetics in bacteria
        431 Life Sciences Building.
larsena@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-9559
   
Lee Meserve, Ph.D., Rutgers University
   Distinguished Teaching Professor
   Mammalian endrocrinology
        503 Life Sciences Building.
lmeserve@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-8361
   
Paul Morris, Ph.D., Queen's University, Canada
   Associate Professor
   Molecular plant-microbe interactions
        442B Life Sciences Building.
pmorris@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-0481
   
Scott Rogers, University of Washington
   Department Chair
   
        217 Life Sciences Building.
srogers@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-2332
   
Zhaohui Xu, Ph.D., Huazhong Agricultural University
   Assistant Professor
    Gene expression in bacteria
        538ALife Sciences Building.
zxu@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-4645
   
Weidong Yang, Ph.D., Fudan University, Shanghai, China
   Assistant Professor
    Single molecule imaging and tracking
        521A Life Sciences Building.
wyang@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-8007
   
Jill Zeilstra-Ryalls, Ph.D., Purdue University
   Professor
    Gene regulation and protein structure-function relationships
        442C Life Sciences Building.
jzeilst@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-2872