The BGSU grounds crew

The BGSU grounds crew

Classified staff honors its best

Classified staff scholarship winners

Classified Staff Council honored an individual and a team for their contributions to the University and to classified staff at its annual spring reception April 17. Also presented were 13 scholarships funded by the council through donations and fund-raising efforts such as the CSC golf outing held each June.

There were four nominations for the individual award and a record 14 for the team award, all of whom were recognized.

Also at the ceremony, President Sidney Ribeau thanked classified staff for its many years of solid support of the University and noted the inestimable value of its mainly behind-the-scenes work.

Barb Garay

Outstanding Service Award
The Outstanding Service Award was presented to Barb Garay, secretary in the Faculty Senate office. The award recognizes and applauds classified employees whose efforts benefit students, academic units and the University community, as well as encouraging and promoting excellence within the workplace. With it came a $1,000 cash award, a reserved parking space and a commemorative plaque. 

According to her nominators, Garay gets some “tough” requests, especially when it comes to calls from faculty. She handles these situations in a most professional manner, providing relevant information and referring calls to appropriate leaders in Faculty Senate. The Faculty Personnel Conciliation Committee is demanding, sensitive and timeline-oriented, one said, adding, “Barb handles this work better than anyone I will know in my career.” Another wrote, “This is my fifth year as a senate officer, and I can attest to her loyal devotion to the office and the University, to her grasp of the most complex of issues, to her efficient organization ability down to the last detail, to her hard work, her honesty and to her pleasant and accommodating manner. Barb is respected for her competence, thoroughness and willingness to learn procedures and policies, and her common sense.”

Garay has also worked for the good of the University and her constituent group, said presenter Sue Frost. She served on Classified Staff Council for seven years, including one year as its chair, one as vice chair, one as secretary and one as treasurer. She has also helped out with Presidents’ Day for 11 years and with the University Picnic for four years. “She has been a member of a number of University committees—too many to even mention,” Frost added.

In accepting the award, Garay thanked Faculty Senate officers Drs. Pat Pauken, Ellen Williams and Rich Hebein as well as her family, who surprised her by attending. “The University has been my second home for the past 22 years, but my family will always come first in my heart,” she said.

Classified Staff Team Award
The 24-member grounds department shared a $1,500 prize and will also receive a plaque in their honor as winners of the team award.

Nominated by Sgt. Dennis Ehlers of the campus police, the team was cited for its dedication to BGSU and their individual jobs. “They give countless hours of their time to keep our University at its highest state of beauty throughout the year,” he said.

The team worked especially hard last winter to keep up with the unusually high snowfall, Ehlers said, making sure that the lots had been plowed by the time classes and work started in the mornings.

And even though the campus weathered two snowstorms the week of spring break, none of the scheduled events with outside groups had to be canceled because the grounds crew continued to keep the lots and sidewalks clear.

They work through the summer, mowing, planting, grooming shrubs and bushes and cleaning up limbs downed during storms, and have been removing and replacing ash trees damaged by insects.

Honored were Richard Atchison, Lee Boulis, Barbara Brown, Helen Cline, William Conine, Scott Domer, Tina Dudley, Scott Euler, Jack Gangwer, William Harding, Nathan Johnson, Gregory Kuhn, Matthew Minnick, Scott Morningstar, John Panning, Gregory Ritchie, Frank Schemenauer, Timothy Shirer, David Stewart, Randy Tolles, Jim Tracy, Sue Wammes, Tom Weber and Jeff Webb.

Scholarship winners
Since CSC established its scholarship in 1998, nearly 140 employees and their dependents have been the recipients, noted Karen Donaldson in announcing this year’s winners.

Employee recipients of the scholarships included: Jaye Baum-Gangwer, student life, advanced technological education; Rachel Guzman, ITS, graduate program in Spanish; Marsha Olivarez, finance, liberal arts; Gloria Enriquez Pizana, American culture studies, public history; Yolanda Patton, human services, liberal arts; Tamara Sharp, Social Philosophy and Policy Center, graduate program in American culture studies, and Amanda Stewart, psychology, undeclared graduate major.

Dependent recipients and their parents included: Kristin Bechstein, a sophomore from Bowling Green majoring in middle childhood education and daughter of Kathryn Bechstein; Kyle Hesterman, a sophomore from Napoleon majoring in education and son of Tammy Nagel; Christopher Lorenzen, a sophomore from Pemberville majoring in business and son of Sandy Jess; Laura Samson, a sophomore from Pemberville majoring in pre-business and daughter of Vicki Samson; Kari Stencil, a junior from Bowling Green majoring in English and daughter of Jim Stencil, and Mark Zuzik, a sophomore from Cygnet majoring in art history and son of Mary Zuzik.

April 21, 2008