Board names search committee for next president

In addition to hiring Dr. Carol Cartwright, president emeritus of Kent State University, as interim BGSU president, the board of trustees Friday (June 6) named a committee to search for the successor to President Ribeau. The trustees also authorized solicitation of proposals from firms to aid in the search process.

Heading the University’s President Search Committee will be Trustee William Primrose.
Other trustee members are Stephanie Imhoff, John Moore and Bob Sebo.

All the trustee members are in the middle of their tenures and all have experience with hiring, according to Michael Marsh, board chair.

Representing the faculty on the committee are Drs. Patrick Pauken, leadership and policy studies; Ronald Shields, theatre and film; Ellen Williams, intervention services and incoming chair of Faculty Senate, and Arthur Yeh, applied statistics and operations research.

Representing the administrative staff is Jill Carr, assistant vice president for student affairs and dean of students.

Representing classified staff is Faith Olson, fiscal officer in the College of Education and Human Development.

The other committee members are Emmanual Guillory, new president of Graduate Student Senate; John Waynick, president of Undergraduate Student Government; Alumni Board member Andre Craig; BGSU Foundation Board member Jim Bailey, and Richard Edwards, community representative and former BGSU administrator.

The search committee closely reflects the makeup of the committee that hired President Ribeau, except that there is one fewer trustee member and, instead, a community member, Marsh noted. Presidential searches typically take about a year, he said.

June 9, 2008