August 1, 2005

  Monitor Logo
A weekly publication for the BGSU community

Willis Award
Dr. Clyde Willis (center), with Dr. Alexander Goberman (left), communication disorders, and Dr. Jefferson Holcomb, criminal justice.

Two faculty members earn Willis Award

For the first time in its three-year history, the Clyde R. Willis Faculty Development Award has two recipients.

Dr. Alexander Goberman, communication disorders, and Dr. Jefferson Holcomb, criminal justice, have been named this year’s winners of the award from the College of Health and Human Services.

The award is named for former health and human services Dean Clyde Willis, who retired in 2002 after 18 years in the position. It is given on the basis of teaching, scholarship and service during the previous year, with emphasis on accomplishments in research and with preference given to junior, probationary faculty whose accomplishments represent significant progress.


Spacer Spacer
More News

Afghanistan expert to speak, receive alumnus award at graduation
Dr. Thomas E. Gouttierre, one of the world's leading experts on Afghanistan, will speak at the University's summer commencement Saturday (Aug. 6).

Founder of BGSU marine lab to receive honorary degree
Cynthia Collin Stong, founder of the BGSU marine biology laboratory, will be presented an honorary doctorate in marine science education at summer commencement.

University to award degrees to 1,200 students
Students, parents, faculty and friends will gather on the lawn in front of University Hall Saturday for BGSU’s 253rd commencement exercises.