Journalism major among broadcasters' inaugural 10 scholars

Nicole Humphrey, a junior from Warren, is one of 10 students chosen as the first National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation (NABEF) Scholars.

A journalism major in the broadcast sequence, Humphrey will receive $10,000 per year for the next two years through the new program, which targets outstanding communications students from diverse backgrounds to help them complete their undergraduate degrees and begin careers in broadcasting.

Communications schools at 10 universities were selected to award the scholarships on the basis of “quality of the school's communications program, emphasis on serving women and people of color and on regional distribution,” according to the foundation.

In addition to BGSU, chosen universities were Brigham Young, Murray State and Pennsylvania State, along with the universities of Alaska-Anchorage, Arkansas, Florida, Nevada-Reno, Southern California and Texas-Austin.

Each communications school picked a broadcast major—a woman or person of color—to receive the scholarship, based upon demonstrated ability and promise as well as financial need.

As part of the scholarship, each student must perform an internship at a licensed radio or television station. Humphrey, who will be an intern this fall at WTVG-TV in Toledo, interned this summer at WJAR-TV in Cranston, R.I. “I want to go to New York next summer,” she said, adding she would like to work at NBC's “Today Show.”

Also a former intern at WYTV-33 in Youngstown, Humphrey is a production assistant and editor for WBGU-PBS and a producer and anchor of BG24 News on campus.

“We have high expectations for her,” said Dr. Terry Rentner, chair of the journalism department.

August 28, 2006