Mathis, Hudson-Nowak honored with Community Fellowship Award

William Mathis and Mel Hudson-Nowak, co-chairs of the Strategic Planning Group appointed by former President Ribeau in February, have been named the recipients of the 2008 University Community Fellowship Award by the Department of Higher Education and Student Affairs (HESA). The award was presented during the department’s 14th annual convocation, held Sept. 5.

The University Community Fellowship Award is presented each year in recognition of extraordinary contributions by faculty, staff and students to building collegial working relationships at BGSU. As co-chairs, Mathis and Hudson-Nowak are charged with providing leadership to a group of 21 individuals representing a variety of departments and offices from across the University.

Mathis is also chair of music performance studies; Hudson-Nowak is director of internal auditing and advising services.

Nominations for the award are solicited each summer, and the University Community Fellowship Award committee, comprised of faculty and students in the HESA department, selects the recipient(s).

Previous recipients include Ribeau; Jill Carr, dean of students; Dr. Milton Hakel, Ohio Eminent Scholar in psychology; Dr. Linda Dobb, former executive vice president, and the Chapman Community.

September 8, 2008