Tenure, promotion of BGSU faculty rewards achievement

BOWLING GREEN, O.—In one of the most eagerly awaited annual events, the Bowling Green State University Board of Trustees granted promotion and, for some, tenure to a number of faculty at its May 7 meeting. The awardees were celebrated at a reception that afternoon.

Seven faculty were promoted to full professor. They are:
• Dr. John Chen, mathematics and statistics
• Dr. Apollos Nwauwa, history
• Dr. Moira van Staaden, biological sciences
• Dr. Amelia Carr, management
• Dr. Margaret Zoller Booth, School of Leadership and Policy Studies
• Dr. Priscilla Coleman, School of Family and Consumer Sciences
• Carol Singer, Library Teaching and Learning

Granted tenure were:
• Dr. George Zsidisin, management
• Dr. John Liederbach, criminal justice
• Dr. Hans Schmalzried, public and allied health

Granted tenure and promotion to associate professor were:
• Dr. Bill Albertini, English
• Dr. Becca Cragin, popular culture
• Dr. Sandra Faulkner, communication
• Dr. Scott Magelssen, theatre and film
• Dr. Maria Rizzo, mathematics and statistics
• Dr. Amy Robinson, romance and classical studies
• Dr. Gi Woong Yun, telecommunications
• Dr. Kenneth Ryan, applied statistics and operations research
• Dr. Mingshen Li, finance
• Dr. Brian Campbell, School of Human Movement, Sport and Leisure Studies
• Dr. Mary Murray, School of Intervention Services
• Dr. Jeanne Novak, School of Intervention Services
• Dr. Dafina Stewart, higher education and student affairs
• Dr. David Tobar, School of Human Movement, Sport and Leisure Studies
• Dr. Linda Cornell, natural and social sciences, BGSU Firelands
• Dr. Philip Weinsier, applied sciences, BGSU Firelands
• Dr. Carol Hayward, music education
• Dr. Kenneth Thompson, music education

Promoted to senior lecturer were:
• Akiko Jones, German, Russian and East Asian languages
• Karen Eboch, management
• John Moor, humanities, BGSU Firelands
• Bonnie Fink, visual communication and technology education, and Center for Teaching and Learning

Promoted to lecturer were:
• Dr. Donna Kauffman, sociology
• Ruth Light, School of Art
• Gordon Ricketts, Arts Village
• Kelly Taylor, journalism
• Dr. Margaret Weinberger, sociology
• Sylvia Hermo-Fedro, applied sciences, BGSU Firelands
• Dr. Gary Benjamin, visual communication and technology education
• Burnette Shilling, visual communication and technology education
• Catherine Smith, technology systems


(Posted May 11, 2010 )