Alpha Lambda Delta- Phi Eta Sigma

Alpha Lambda Delta-Phi Eta Sigma (ALD-PES) is the premier first year honor society recognizing and encouraging academic excellence among BGSU first year students. First-year students who earn a cumulative 3.5 GPA during their first semester and are in the top 20% of the first-year class will be invited to join ALD-PES in the spring semester of their first year. Once invited to join, students are members for life of both Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society and Phi Eta Sigmia National Honor Society , even if grade averages fall below a 3.5 GPA. ALD-PES is a great way to get involved and make friends.
Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD) was founded in 1924 by the Dean of Women, Maria Leonard, at the University of Illinois to recognize academic excellence among freshmen women.  One year before, Dean Thomas Arkle Clark had founded Phi Eta Sigma (PES), an honor society to recognize academic excellence among freshmen men.  Both groups operated as single sex organizations until the mid-70s when they both became coeducational in response to Title IX. Alpha Lambda Delta has continued to celebrate academic excellence among first year students and has grown to over 260 chapters and has initiated over 850,000 students.  Since its founding, 365 chapters of PES have been chartered and more than 975,000 scholars have been inducted into PES.  Both national honor societies continue to function independently and both invite men and women to join.  In 2013, members of ALD and PES at BGSU came together to merge into one organization recognizing first year academic achievement.  Those students who are inducted into ALD-PES at BGSU will hold membership in the national ALD and PES.
Criteria for membership:
  • First-year, full-time student
  • Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 on 4.0 scale
  • This GPA is achieved for any regular curricular period
  • Student is carrying a normal academic load acceptable toward a bachelor’s degree
  • Student ranks in the top 20% of their class
2013-2014 Executive Board:


Amber Gombash
Beth Evans
Vice President
Andrea Crincoli
Danielle Kemp
Lisa Holcomb
Social Chair
Sarah Waggoner
Community Service Chair
Libby Morsch
Social Media Director
Claire Austin
Graduate Advisor
Jacob Clemens