Omicron Delta Kappa

Omicron Delta Kappa is the national leadership honor society, and fosters leadership and community service at universities across the country. Students transition to employment more easily if their backgrounds include more than just academic studies upon graduation. The society encourages interaction and community service among university students, faculty and staff, as well as recognizing those who contribute to the community.

Omicron Delta Kappa recognizes achievement in five areas:

  • Scholarship
  • Athletics
  • Campus or community service, social and religious activities, and campus government
  • Journalism, speech, and the mass media
  • Creative and performing arts

Founded in 1914 at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, ODK was the first college honor society to have a national scope and honor students for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities. Bowling Green’s chapter or circle was created in 1949 and since then more than 1,700 students, faculty, staff and alumni have been initiated into the University circle.

2013 Omicron Delta Kappa Membership List

2012-2013 Executive Board
 Jacob Clemens, Assistant Dean of Students, Center for Leadership,
Faculty Secretary:  Debra McLean, Executive Assistant, Biological Science,

President:  Nick Reilly,
Vice President:  Lauren Purdy,
Program Chair:  Rachel Asmus,
Secretary:  Kim Schmitt,
Treasurer:  Lauren Clark

Omicron Delta Kappa National Website