Department of Recreation and Wellness

Sport Clubs -Teams and Contacts

Listed below are BGSU's active Sport Club teams and contact information for a representative of each club as well as links to active organization web sites.

Many of the clubs have included a statement highlighting the experience they offer BGSU students through membership in their organization.

Additional questions and inquiries may be directed to the Sport Clubs Office at 419.372.2464.

Baseball
Contact: Billy Nowak
nowakw@bgsu.edu
The purpose of this organization is to play competitive baseball against other local universities. All interested players are required to furnish their own equipment. Uniforms may be purchased through the club.
Soccer (Men's)
Contact: Andrew English
aenglis@bgsu.edu

The purpose of the club is to give advanced players an opportunity to play competitive soccer against other universities. Whether being varsity, junior varsity, or other club teams, the club travels to, and hosts other college university teams to encourage the development of men's athletics, by the way of competition.
Basketball (Women's)
Contact: Caitlin Haycook
chaycoo@bgsu.edu
The purpose of this organization is to play competitive basketball against other universities.
Soccer (Women's)
Contact: Julie Rogozinski
jrogozi@bgsu.edu
The purpose of the club is to play competitive soccer against other collegiate club teams.
Bowling
Contact: John Przybylski
jprzyby@bgsu.edu
For those of you who desire the skill and finesse that bowling strikes and spares requires this club competes at a high level and can bring out the best of your abilities.
Softball (Women's)
Contact: Kerri Gangwer
kerrig@bgsu.edu

The purpose of this club is to give women the opportunity to play fast-pitch softball at a competitive level.
Curling
Contact: Mark Garcia
mgarcia@bgsu.edu

The purpose of the club is to promote the sport of curling to the BGSU student community. We do this in a recreational way as well as competing against other universities. Members range from 5+ years of curling experience to no experience at all.
Swimming/Diving
Contact: Megan Rose
megrose@bgsu.edu

The purpose of this club is to provide students an opportunity to continue competitive swimming, and to provide a team for BGSU men interested in swimming, as the men's varsity team was cut.
Cycling
Contact: Vince D'Ettorre
dettov@bgsu.edu

The purpose of the club is to promote the sport of cycling and enhance fitness levels and competitive opportunities for enthusiasts on the Bowling Green campus.
Tennis
Contact: Zubin DeVitre
zubind@bgsu.edu

Club Tennis is a blend of competitive and recreational tennis. The team is co-ed, plays once or twice a week, and every couple of weeks competes against other universities in the Midwest. The team is especially targeted for those with a tennis background who wish to continue playing competitive tennis.
Dodgeball
Contact: Evan Freer
efreer@bgsu.edu

The purpose of Bowling Green Dodgeball is to create an active co-ed sport for the competitive and the casual.
Track and Field
Contact: Quetin Martin
qmartin@bgsu.edu
Members have the opportunity to train daily and compete indoors and outdoors against foes both near and far at the collegiate level.
Equestrian
Contact: Elizabeth Schoenwitz
schoene@bgsu.edu
The purpose of the club is to provide it's members opportunities to enhance their skills and abilities in the sport of Equestrian.
Ultimate Frisbee (Men's)
Contact: Peter Ostapowicz
petero@bgsu.edu
The purpose of this club is to give students the opportunity to learn and play the game of Ultimate Frisbee at a competitive level.
Gymnastics
Contact: Kelsey Kelly Senawi ksenawi@bgsu.edu
The purpose of our club is designed to provide a fun and athletic setting for students interested in the sport of gymnastics.
Volleyball (Men's)
Contact: Nick Butina
nbutina@bgsu.edu
The purpose of the club is to offer a competitive environment for male volleyball players at Bowling Green State University.
Ice Hockey (Men's)
Contact: AJ Mitchell
ajmitch@bgsu.edu

The purpose of the club is to promote the game of hockey at Bowling Green State University by providing an active schedule for the advanced hockey player.
Volleyball (Women's)
Contact: Erin Mesker or
Amanda Colvin
emesker@bgsu.edu or acolvin@bgsu.edu
The purpose of the club is to provide a competitive, yet fun collegiate volleyball team.
Lacrosse (Men's)
Contact: Stephen Miller
smiller@bgsu.edu

The purpose of the club is to promote the game of field lacrosse at Bowling Green State University and to gain the respect of other institutions as a high caliber team.
Water Polo
Contact: Jacob Hunter
hunterj@bgsu.edu
The purpose of the club is to provide Bowling Green State University students with an opportunity to participate and promote the sport of water polo at the collegiate level in a competitive setting.
Rugby (Men's)
Contact: Tony Mazzarella or
Nolan Cavano
tmazzarella@hotmail.com
or ncavano@bgsu.edu
The purpose of the club is to promote rugby union football and the spirit of rugby -- sportsmanship, camaraderie, competition, and excellence -- both on and off the field; and to provide those interested in rugby with an opportunity to play, regardless of skill.
Waterski Team
Contact: Craig Blaiseman
craigb@bgsu.edu
The purpose of the club is to share a passion for water sports with fellow students and to train other students to excel at these water sports.
Rugby (Women's)
Contact: Katie Wilson
wilsoke@bgsu.edu
The purpose of the club is to promote rugby union football and the spirit of rugby -- sportsmanship, camaraderie, competition, and excellence -- both on and off the field; and to provide those interested in rugby with an opportunity to play, regardless of skill.
Wrestling
Contact: Michael Webber mwebber@bgsu.edu
The purpose of the club is to promote the sport of competitive wrestling and provide collegiate wrestling opportunities for BGSU students at the local, regional, and national level.
Sailing
Contact: Ryan Kyle
wrkyle@bgsu.edu

The purpose of the BGSU Sailing Club is for the members to represent BGSU and the sailing club as they participate in competitive sailing events.