Classified Staff Council

Outstanding Service Award

Congratulations to Kathleen Newman - Service-Learning
2012-2013 Classified Staff Outstanding Service Award Winner



The Classified Staff Outstanding Service Award (CSOSA) recognizes and applauds classified employees whose efforts benefit students, faculty and staff, and others within and outside the University community. Students, faculty, classified and administrative staff may nominate any permanent part-time or full-time classified employee.  The award recipient will be announced at the Classified Staff Awards Ceremony on May 21, 2014.  The recipient of the CSOSA receives a $1,500.00 award, a commemorative plaque, and a one-year reserved parking space (cost of space will reduce the amount of the award).  A picture will be taken and displayed with the recipient’s name on the permanent plaque which is located on the second floor of the Bowen-Thompson Student Union.


  • Criteria requirement is exemplary service performed by permanent part-time or full-time BGSU employee.
  • Someone who is nominated and then retires is still eligible.
  • Individuals who have won in previous years are ineligible.  (See previous winners below.)
  • If a CSOSA Committee member is nominated for the Outstanding Service Award, that member is ineligible from serving in the selection process.
  • A personal letter of explanation written by the nominee explaining the service he/she provides to his/her unit, the University, and his/her community, organizations, etc.
  • One to three letters of support will be accepted for each nomination submitted.  The CSOSA Committee will not consider additional letters of support after receipt of the first three letters.
  • The recipient will serve on the CSOSA Committee to help select the following year’s award winner.
  • Nomination form, personal letter of service and letter(s) of support will not be accepted after the deadline of 5:00 p.m. on April 15, 2014.


  • Exhibits personal service to others through BGSU affiliations and initiatives and to his/her community, organizations, etc.
  • Exhibits exemplary job performance
  • Maintains a positive attitude and is dependable, conscientious, and caring
  • Works easily with others both internal and external to the University
  • Motivates others
  • Supports and participates in University activities and/or serves on University committees

Examples of your experiences with the nominee and a detailed explanation on how they demonstrate the above selection criteria are required in your letter.  A maximum of three letters of support will be accepted.  Submit the nomination form and letter(s) of support to Faith Olson, 444 Education Building, or by email at

Questions can be submitted to any CSOSA Committee member or CSC representative.

Classified Staff Outstanding Service Award Guidelines and Nomination Form

2012-2013 CSOSA Nominees (alphabetical order)
Click on the name to read the nomination letters.

Heidi Hakel - Construction Management and Graduate Studies
Max Kupresanin - English
Linda Meek - Romance and Classical Studies
Kathleen Newman - Service-Learning
Kim Strickland - College of Technology
Serena Swiecicki - College of Education and Human Development

2011-2012 CSOSA Nominees (alphabetical order)
Click on the name to read the nomination letters.

Heidi Hakel - Construction Management
Jacqueline Leady - Bowen-Thompson Student Union
Kate Najacht - Library Teaching & Learning
Faith Olson - College of Education
Gloria Pizana - American Culture Studies
Lynette Rosebrook - Student Financial Aid
Linda Snyder - Student Financial Aid
Mark Strang - University Libraries
Mary Zuzik - University Libraries

Previous winners include:
Faith Olson, College of Education
2005-2006Sue Frost, Archival Collections
2004-2005Sarah Grimes, Career Center
2003-2004Linda Hammer, Intramural Sports
2002-2003Candace Ducat, School of Art
2001-2002Pam Atchison, Counseling Center
2000-2001Cindy Koontz, Bursar Office
1999-2000Brad Woessner, Facilities Services
1998-1999Celia Aring, Office of Multicultural Affairs and Academic Initiatives
1997-1998Jackie Instone, College of Musical Arts
1996-1997Dale Furbee, Student Recreation Center
1995-1996Joanne Bruning, Student Activities
1994-1995John Booth, Student Recreation Center
1993-1994Becky Prowant, Food Operations
1992-1993Susan Shammo, Information Technology Services
1991-1992Jodi Laubis, Student Recreation Center
1990-1991Marcelino Vara, Facilities Services
1989-1990Chris Sexton, WBGU-TV
1988-1989Imogene Krift, Office Services