Latest Issue
Winter Wheat
Author Index
Contact Us
Creative Writing at BGSU



Latest News
Facebook Share on Facebook

MAR on Facebook

Fall Contests

Fall Contests Winners announced
The editors of Mid-American Review are pleased to announce the winners of their 2010-2011 literary competitions.

We are happy to congratulate Katie Umans of Dover, New Hampshire, as this year’s winner of the James Wright Poetry Award for her poem “Forecast.” In addition to “Forecast,” Umans’ “The Body Near Paintings” will be published as an Editor’s Choice. The contest was adjucated by Rachel Zucker, whose most recent books are Home Birth: A Poemic (co-written with Arielle Greenberg, 2011) and Museum of Accidents (Wave Books 2009). We are proud to announce three additional authors and their works:

Michele Battiste: "In the House"
Lauren Jensen: "It's hard as so much is"
Melanie McCabe:"Beneath the Code"

We also extend our congratulations to Lydia Fitzpatrick of Madison, Wsconsin, as this year’s winner of the Sherwood Anderson Fiction Award for her story “Flood Lines.” The judge for this year’s contest was Benjamin Percy, whose forthcoming novel Red Moon (Grand Central/Hachette 2012) is also being adapted for film by the Gotham Group. We are also happy to announce four additional authors and their works, which were also submitted to the judge as finalists:

Shannon Robinson: “All Her Martyr’d Signs”
Lones Seiber: “Goodbye, God; I’m Going to California”
Heather A. Slomski: "Iris and the Inevitable Sorrow or The Knock at the Door”
Kayla Soyer-Stein: “I Like Pickup Trucks”

All winners and editors' choices will be published in MAR's forthcoming spring issue, due out in early June. Each winner will also receive $1,000.

We'd like to thank everyone who entered the competition for their interest and support. The contests serve as healthy competition amongst writers in honor of each competition's namesake, plus provide funds for publishing Mid-American Review, a non-profit literary endeavor.

The Sherwood Anderson Fiction Award
First Prize: $1,000 and publication
Four Finalists: Notation, possible publication

2010 Judge: Benjamin Percy, author of The Language of Elk,Refresh, Refresh, and the forchoming novel The Wilding.

The James Wright Poetry Award
First Prize: $1000 and publication
Four Finalists: Notation, possible publication

2010 Judge: Rachel Zucker, author of Museum of Accidents,The Bad Wife Handbook, and Eating in the Underworld.

These contests have closed for 2010. Check back in February for an update on results.

All queries regarding the contests can be directed to Managing Editor Brad Felver.