Fall Contests

The editors of Mid-American Review would like to congratulate the winners of the 2011-2012 literary competitions.

The Fineline Competition
First Prize: $1,000 and publication
Diane Seuss for her prose poem "I emptied my little wishing well of its emptiness"

Heather Cox, "How Quickly a Woman Evaporates" and "God, Forsaken"
Richard Garcia, "The Expert"
Genevieve Hudson, "Even Wild Horses"
Lauren Jensen, "Neighbors"
Shelley Johnson, "Anniversary"
Dawn McGuire, "Follow Me to the Water"
Georgia A. Popoff, "Children of the Moon"
Alexandra Sadinoff, "Punch" and "Symmetry Majors"
2012 Judge: Amelia Gray, author of Threats: A Novel.

The Sherwood Anderson Fiction Award
First Prize: $1,000 and publication
Kyle Mellen for his story "Lighting in You a Tremendous Fire"

Four Finalists:
“On Great Mountain” by Suzanne Barnecut of San Francisco, California
“Love Letters” by Nahal Suzanne Jamir of Tallahassee, Florida
“The Last American Tiger” by Nick Kocz of Blacksburg, Virginia
“The Elf” by Todd Seabrook of Tallahassee, Florida

2011-2012 Judge: Laura van den Berg, author of What the World Will Look Like When All the Water Leaves Us.

The James Wright Poetry Award
First Prize: $1000 and publication
Sarah Rose Nordgren of Provincetown, Massachusetts, for her poem "When You Are Dead"

Four Finalists:
“Terra” by Jacqueline Kolosov of Lubbock, Texas
“The Horses Are Fighting” by Jill Osier of Greene, Iowa
“Lost Body” and “Late Subdivisions” by Jonathan Rice of Kalamazoo, Michigan

2011-2012 Judge: Mary Biddinger, author of O Holy Insurgency, Saint Monica and Prairie Fever.

Information on our 2012-2013 competitions can be found by clicking here.